

Engagement Scholarship Consortium Calls for Nominations for Excellence Awards Program

For Immediate Release January 28, 2020

HARRISONBURG and BLACKSBURG, Va. – The Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC) — the premier resource for higher education institutions and community partners focused on promoting excellence in the scholarship and practice of engaged scholarship locally and globally — is accepting nominations for its 2020 Excellence Awards Program, which recognizes exemplary engagement scholarship. Nominations will be accepted through Friday, March 20, 2020. For more information on nomination procedures and submission, visit https://engagementscholarship.org/grants-awards/esc-awards-program.

Award recipients will be recognized during the 2020 Annual Conference in Philadelphia, Pa. The awards program is a key priority of ESC 20/20 – Vision. Focus. Impact., providing institutional recognition in five categories: Student, Faculty, Community Partner, Distinguished Engaged Scholar and Institutional Leadership. All two- and four-year public and private higher education institutions are eligible and are invited to submit nominations. Institutional award recipients will receive a cash award, certificate, two registration fee waivers for the 2020 ESC Annual Conference and will be invited to participate in an Excellence Awards Recipients Panel Presentation during the 2020 conference.

ESC Board President Samory T. Pruitt, vice president for community affairs at The University of Alabama, underscored the importance of the highly competitive program. "We know that each year, submissions will include many innovative and practical solutions to some of the most critical challenges facing our nation and world today. These awards recognize the best engagement scholarship has to offer," Pruitt said.

The ESC Excellence Awards Program recognizes activities that improve the quality of life for individuals, families and communities, while building capacity through engaged scholarship. The program also provides important recognition opportunities for students, faculty, community partners and higher education institutions and increases opportunities for enhanced peer learning.

Contacts: Melissa Maybury Lubin, Engagement Scholarship Consortium Awards Committee chair and dean of professional and continuing education, James Madison University, 540-568-4253, lubin2mm@jmu.edu and Susan E. Short, Engagement Scholarship Consortium Executive Committee liaison and associate vice president for engagement, Virginia Tech, 540-231-9497, sshort@vt.edu.